New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading .300 WSM
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to this particular round and am still looking for a accurate long range target load. Sierras data, for the 175 SMK shows 66.5 grs of XMR 4350 as their accuracy load. Well NOT in my rifle it isn't! Sooo back to square 1. Anyone shooting this caliber have a good accuracy load?? Prefer the 175 SMK but am open to suggestions! I know to start low with any recommendations and work up.
Thanks in advance!

Sarge

I was a soldier * I am a soldier * I will always be a soldier
SFC,US Army, Retired
NRA Life
www.snipercountry.com

Posts: 60 | Location: Southern Area 51 | Registered: 27 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SargeRN:
I'm new to this particular round and am still looking for a accurate long range target load. Sierras data, for the 175 SMK shows 66.5 grs of XMR 4350 as their accuracy load. Well NOT in my rifle it isn't! Sooo back to square 1. Anyone shooting this caliber have a good accuracy load?? Prefer the 175 SMK but am open to suggestions! I know to start low with any recommendations and work up.
Thanks in advance!

Sarge

Sarge, Try 67-69grs. RE22 with WLR primer. Should give you under MOA out to 300yds. I've been using/loading 67grs. with 180 BTs and Interbonds for my brother-in-law and a buddy at work. Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jay, just want to clarify something here, you're saying Winchester STANDARD Large Rifle Primers and not Magnums?? Second post I've read using this primer/brass/powder set up. Guess I don't understand why folks are not using a magnum primer in a magnum round. Magnum primer "should" give better more reliable, consistant ignition in the large case.

Sarge

SFC,US Army, Retired
NRA Life
www.snipercountry.com

Posts: 60 | Location: Southern Area 51 | Registered: 27 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us