Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

270 Winchester Loads for Hunting Mullies
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to the reloading world and have been reading this forum for a while now to learn as much as I could and now I would like to ask for some assistance with getting under 1 MOA with Nosler Partition 150g bullets.

I have a custom made 270 Winchester with a Mauser Action and a Douglas Supreme barrel. The twist rate is 1 in 10 and with the 150g Partition, the lands are at 2.8840� inches off the bolt face. The barrel is glass bedded and I can easily slip a 1$ bill down the length of the barrel between it and the stock.

I�m using both Winchester Brass and Remington brass and have measured the case capacity to be 67.6 grains of H2O and 67.1 gains of H20. I�ve been using RE 19 and RE 22 loads and have measured the Specific Gravity of each to be 0.928 and 0.939 respectively.

I�ve tried loads of RE22 ranging from 55g to 59g in 1g increments and a cartridge overall length of 3.325� and have not been able to get anything under 1 MOA. Perhaps my COAL is too short.

I have bought some factory ammunition (Remington Express w/150g Core Lokt - $15 a box) that shoot 1 MOA at 100yards and I�m beginning to wonder if this reloading thing is a waste of time but the enthusiasm on this site makes me think I'm doing something wrong.

Can anyone recommend a load for RE 22 and a C.O.A.L using the 150g Nosler partition or do I need to try a new powder (or hopefully not) a different bullet. I like the design of the Partition for medium size game hunting at ranges to 400 yards.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Try seating the bullets closer to the lands. A little change in seating depth can make a big difference. I doubt that the bullets are the problems but it is possible. If changing the seating depth doesn't work, then I'd try a different powder like Hogdon or IMR 4831. Good luck.

Posts: 69 | Location: Havelock, NC USA | Registered: 17 September 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post