THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lee Collet die, not enough neck tension?.......
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of GatorT/C
posted
Sorry for confusion, but I am brand new to reloading and have a question. I started reloading a few weeks ago and am getting good results using RCBS dies in a 7-30 Waters by neck sizing, but am having issues with a .30-30 Lee collet die. I set the die as the literature says and I primed 50 cases and measured and weighed my inital loads and when I seated a Nosler 125g BT I could pull the bullet out by my finger alone! I poured all of the powder out and set about trying to "crimp" some more. I did not want to have to remove the primers so I had another mandrel from a 300WM collet die that I broke the decapping pin off. I was able to run primed cases back in the collet die without de-priming them. No matter how I adjusted die I could not get enough neck tension. This is the only set of .30-30 dies I have. I am using a Lee Classic Cast press. Finally I got out my micrometer and measured the mandrel(s). Both were ~0.3065" for the length. I polished the mandrel in a drill and got down to 0.305", but the neck tension was still light. Evidently the brass is "springing" back slightly. Finally I put mandrel in drill and used a file to remove metal where it is 0.301". After loading a couple of rounds with this setup it appears that I have much better neck tension as I cannot move the bullet by hand. My question is whether this is normal to have to do and how much neck tension do I need? I am strictly going by "feel" while seating the bullet in the press and I have only loaded a couple of hundred rounds so far. Oh by the way this a great forum and I spend way too much time reading the post here! Wink

Posts: 31 | Location: Gainesville, Fl | Registered: 05 July 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Welcome to the forum Gator.