Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I give up! I'll just buy my ammo!
 Login/Join

posted
What am i doing wrong? I am new to rifle reloading,and am trying to load 220 Swift. I have a Dillon 550 B with a set of Lee dies. The neck sizing die is kicking my ass. By the time I adjust it so I get enough neck tension to hold the bullet, it is starting to crush the shoulder. There seems to be no middle ground.
Are the Lee dies too cheap? Should I buy a single stage press and keep using the dillon for pistol? I was told to buy a Redding bushing neck die. Should I buy the Whole set?
Also I am looking for a mentor to help me. I live around the Wichita Kansas area. Any input would be helpful.
Thanks, Chris

One of Us
posted Hide Post
butts, sounds like either a case lube problem or you are not adjusting your dies correctly. OR your dies could just be crap. Lee isn't known for making the best of dies.

You have a strange combination of equipment, an excellent, high dollar press and an el cheapo set of dies.

But rather than me try to look into my crystal ball and guess your problem...you are on the right track looking for a mentor in your local area.

Go out to the nearest rifle range or join a gun club. Shooters and reloaders are ALWAYS willing to help a brother.

Don't give up! Reloading is too much fun and the Swift is a blast to load for.

Just chill out until you can find a buddy to help.

Posts: 19677 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Not sure what you're problem is, I use lot's of Lee die's and they work perfectly. I also use a dillion, but only with pistol rounds.

Posts: 3097 | Location: Louisiana | Registered: 28 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Chris: There is nothing wrong with the Lee necksizer die.
If you look in the instructions that came with the die some times depending on the brass used you can't get enough tention.