Notify
Tools

Re: A new guy has brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted
ricciardelli,

I only bought neck size dies for this cartridge. I have FL dies for my other cartridges, nut I really want to take this rifle elk hunting this fall. Is there some other way?

Posts: 336 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 03 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted Hide Post
Ol' Joe,

That sounds like good fair advice. I am just getting started and I thought things would be different. My brand new brass is all different lengths, my loaded cartridges have different OAL's,...it seems that the only thing that I haven't had to buy another tool to complete is measuring powder. That I have mastered!!

I get some cases loaded and someone tells me that the flash hole has a little bur and accuracy suffers if I don't debur it.... it just keeps costing me money and causing hair to fall out, but I'm loving it!!! I'll just be glad to shoot some of these things. I started this for accuracy and more shooting. I still have not fired the first cartridge

one of us
posted Hide Post
"I only bought neck size dies for this cartridge.... take this rifle elk hunting this fall."

I would strongly suggest some FL dies. You will be pretty mad if you screw up a hunt because a cartridge gets stuck. I think the neck sizing trick is much better situed to target shooting than hunting. For hunting, I would rather sacrafice a small amount of accuracy for reliability.

Posts: 813 | Location: Left Coast | Registered: 02 November 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Steve
posted Hide Post
Hear! Hear! I could not agree more.

-Steve

scot said,
Quote:

I would strongly suggest some FL dies. You will be pretty mad if you screw up a hunt because a cartridge gets stuck. I think the neck sizing trick is much better situed to target shooting than hunting. For hunting, I would rather sacrafice a small amount of accuracy for reliability.