New
Find
Notify
Tools

Clean Burning .45 ACP Load
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am new to loading, I have loaded 1500 rounds of .45 ACP. I am pleased with the results of the load I developed. Its easy to shoot, feels like the recoil is milder than the factory stuff I was shooting. The powder measures consistent thru the cheaper Lee measuring device.

The Recipe
WLP, 230grn Berrys Plated RN Bullet and 5.1 grn of IMR PB.

However it seems to be a dirty powder. I had noticed when going thru all my empties some are cleaner than others. The CCI and Federal are still bright inside and their primer pockets were cleaner. The dirtier stuff seems to be the Remington and the Winchester stuff.

The leads me to believe that some powders, primers or combos of the two must burn cleaner than others. Does anyone have suggestions? I would prefer the ball type powders because of the consistency of the throw from my Lee.

This load is mild compared to the cheap factory ball a

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Apparently I didn't proof read the first post.....

This load seems to kick less then the cheap .45 ACP 230 grn ball ammo you can get at wally world. I would like to think that its easier on my gun.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have had excellent results with Clays

Posts: 262 | Registered: 20 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
What brand of primer do you prefer?

One of Us
Picture of Kevin Rohrer
posted Hide Post
Whatever is US made and is cheapest. Typically I buy CCI and Winchester.

I am also looking for a cleaner burning powder and Universal has been recommended to me. I'll get some as soon as I go thru the 9lbs. of Unique I have.

Member:
Orange Gunsite Family, NRA--Life, Varmint Hunters' Assn., ARTCA, and American Legion.

"An armed society is a polite society" --Robert Heinlein via Col. Jeff Cooper, USMC

Caveat Emptor: Don't trust *Cavery Grips* from Clayton, NC. He is a ripoff.