Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

9mm 115gr Ranier Ballistics HP load help needed
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading and have only Lyman 49 and Horn 8ed. I've read these bullets should be considered plated lead.

I started with 3.5 and 3.2 gr W231 WSP at 1.111 OAL. In two different S&W M&P 9mm full size/compact neither load would eject the round though did cycle enough to allow a dry fire on the spent cartridge. The 3.5s had about 4 in 10 stovepipe partial ejections.

I'm considering keeping the "bunny fart" charge but lowering the OAL to 1.08 or 9. I've seen other HP loads as low as 1.07.

Am I on the right track for methodology? Am I doing something wrong? Recommendations?

Posts: 13 | Location: IN | Registered: 23 December 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Scout Master 54
posted Hide Post
Check out the Hogdon / Winchester web site. They show 4.3g - 4.8g of WW 231 with a 115 LRN bullet. Ranier on their web site advises to use lead bullet data, so I suspect your load may be a bit light. Try working your load up a bit higher and keep your OAL the same.

I am using 4.9g of AA #5 with an OAL of 1.14" with that same bullet with no issues in my old Smith 639.

Posts: 332 | Location: Western CT | Registered: 10 June 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Scout Master 54:
Check out the Hogdon / Winchester web site. They show 4.3g - 4.8g of WW 231 with a 115 LRN bullet. Ranier on their web site advises to use lead bullet data, so I suspect your load may be a bit light. Try working your load up a bit higher and keep your OAL the same.

I am using 4.9g of AA #5 with an OAL of 1.14" with that same bullet with no issues in my old Smith 639.

+1

One of Us
Picture of Ray Fryar
posted Hide Post
I use 4.2 gr of Tite group with those bullets have shot several 1000 of them, im with the other guys your load seems to be a little lite I would start working up 0.2 gr at a time till you get it where you like it, JM2cnts. Good luck.

Ray