Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question about using different primers
 Login/Join

posted
Hi everyone. I am new to reloading and a new member to this board, and had a question about primers. I am loading .308's and have been using the federal match primers. I havent been able to get them anywere lately, and was wondering if I could switch to maybe just regular remington or winchester primers without changing too much from my load right off the start?

Posts: 6 | Location: Reno NV | Registered: 29 December 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
back your load down by 5-10% and work your way back up. even a change as simple as a primer can cause pressure differences that could be dangerous in a load that is already quite warm.

Posts: 51246 | Location: Chinook, Montana | Registered: 01 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MickinColo
posted Hide Post
In my experience there’s not much difference between Federal GM210Ms and Remington 9 1/2s but there is a difference between these 2 primers and Winchester WLR. The WLRs are a little hotter (at least this lot of WLRs are).

As tasunkawitko points out, anytime you change a component of your load it’s a good habit to reduce your load a little and work your way back up.

I find it much easier to error on the side of caution than explain to the other shooters at the range why your gun is #@#@ed up. Wink

Posts: 2650 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 15 February 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Amen to MickinColo!! I use F210s for about everything I load, and substitute freely with R-P primers, then I've been reloading for over 40 years, and stopped using CCI primers half way thru that time.
LLS

Posts: 996 | Location: Texas | Registered: 14 October 2004Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
OK, thanks guys! Smiler