THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Throat erosion and fast or slow powders.
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all, I have been lurking around here for awhile just enjoying the information. Now I have a question. I have been reloading for 30 years for dozens of cartridges and some wildcats. My question is this: I am loading for a .257 Weatherby. We all know this particular cartridge is hard on barrels. If I am loading some reduced loads for shooting and practicing with this rifle, am I better off using a volume of slower or faster burning powder to achieve the same velocity? Which would be easier on the bore? Possibly I am over analyzing this but I was curious and thought I would ask a group of seasoned shooters. Thanks in advance.

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I've played with both and really never saw what I felt was a difference. Use what you want and don't overheat the barrel. Single based powders ususally will generate less heat.

What really accelerates the destruction of a barrel in an overbore like the 257Wby is trying to get that last fps and heat. Drop back a couple 100fps kept it cool and enjoy.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wayfaring Stranger
posted Hide Post
All my research has shown that velocity and pressure are the key ingredients to barrel wear. backing off to a minimum load with any powder will ease the wear significantly. That said the mildest load is usually achieved the minimum charge of the fastest burning powder listed in the books.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If the 270 won't do it the .338 will, if the 338 won't I can't afford the hunt!

Posts: 320 | Location: Montgomery, Texas | Registered: 29 October 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post