New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading for 38 sp
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I need help/advice to start loading for the 38 sp. I have been loading for rifle and shotgun for several years, but never for pistol.

I want to load mild waddcutters/semiwaddcutters for practice. It looks like most people use some type of lead bullet, rather than jacketed. I have noticed that there are many variations of bullets, soft (swaged), hard cast, hollow based, etc. Recommendations for brand and type?

Is there any major difference in dies?

What about powder measurement? Can the typical small volume (3-4 grains) be metered by volume safely? I have the RCBS powder measure, but always weigh the charges for rifle.

What about crimping, taper/roll? These will be shot out of an S&W J frame.

Seating depth?

Are there any powders that stand above the rest, or are they similar assuming that load data is followed? I have a supply of Red Dot and Clays, but will consider others if there is an advantage.

I currently have the Nosler and Speer loading manuals.

All advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Posts: 291 | Location: Gettysburg, PA | Registered: 03 August 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
If you are loading on a single stage, RCBS, Redding, even Lee work fine. A lead or plated bullets is prefered for low vel. loads as some jackets will strip in the bbl. at low vel. (under 700fps or so). You can load 148gr wadcutter (WC) or 158gr semiwadcutter SWC) over either of those powders for target vel. loads. If you keep vel. under 800fps, swaged lead are fine, Hornady seems to have the best lube/coating, above that I would go plated or hardcast. If you have the RCBS Uniflow, it should be fine for charges in the 3-4gr range. OAL, I load to the crimp groove on lead bullets & roll crimp there.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post