Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.308 and high pressure
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading and attempting to develop my first load. I first wanted to see how accurate I could get my Savage BVSS to shoot so I started with Varget and Hornady A-Max 168 gr. Lyman's book indicated I was safe to go from 41 to 45.7 grains of Varget. I started at 42 and worked up to 44.5 at .5 gr. incriments. At 44.5 I started showing signs of high pressure. I took the brass to an excellent 1,000 yd shooter who reloads. He confirmed it was high pressure.

I then bought a Sierra book that indicated safe loads from 40.3 to 43.5. Why is there such a variance between the books?

After shooting 5 shot groups with these new reloads, I'm shooting approx. 1 MOA at 100 yds. I haven't been able to determine a favorite load; somewhere between 42 and 43.5 so I am now getting ready to start reloading and working off the lands to try and improve this. If I start with .001 off the lands what increments should I work with?

Any other suggestions as to where I should go next? I'm trimming all my brass the same, etc.

I bought some Sierra 168 gr. and RL-15 and am considering coing to this. What do you think?

One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
[QUOTE]Originally posted by 2nd Hand Lion:
. If I start with .001 off the lands what increments should I work with? QUOTE]

I think you'll find that .001 is not real.

You might try for an average of .015" to start with and get larger to about .070". Than you might [[reduce]] the load some and try touching or slightly engage bullet to rifling. cigarroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Ive been using R15 in my 308 with 165gr horndays SP. Max in the nosler book is 44.5, speer book 47gr R15.