Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.223 hornady 2 die set please help me!
 Login/Join

posted
I am brand new to reloading. This might be my only problem.
I am trying to resize some range pickup brass using the hornady new series 2 die set in .223. Heres what I do:

Raise the ram fully.
Seat my die until it touches the shell plate.
Lower the shell plate
Set my extractor/ expander rod about 1/4 inch below the die. ( just to the point it punches out a primer)
Lubed my cases and let the alcohol on them dry leaving just lube
raise the case in to the die, pops a primer out, takes a little force to resize, but doesnt get stuck or anything, just feels tight.
Then I measure my case to compare to the measurements I took before resizing.

I started with a case that is exactly 1.760" as specified at proper dimension in my hornady manual
When I finish resizing, the case comes out usually 1.765 or 1.768... sometimes even a little higher.
What gives? It seems now my case is too long.
Does anybody have any input for this issue? I have tried setting the die 1/4 turn further against the shellplate, and also backing it up 1/4 turn OFF the shellplate but nothing changes. The case stays over the spec length.
I tried removing the expander ball and primer plunger, and I still get the same result.

I can conclude one of two things:
1. I need to trim the case down to 1.760 AFTER sizing or
2. I'm retarded and I am simply doing something wrong

Please help me. My pistol rounds come out great, this is my first attempt at .223 and Id hate to blow my AR upor hurt myself or someone else.

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
Welcome to AR

Trim after sizing

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Labman
posted Hide Post
What Ted said - trim after resizing. It will also help some if you use a nylon brush to clean the inside necks of your cases before resizing and also lube the inside of the case necks before you resize.