Find
Notify
Tools

Redding INSTANT INDICATOR
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Andre Mertens
posted
I remember reading an article in PS about the Redding "Instant Indicator". Somewhere in his prose the author warns against "adjusting headspace length on a fired case by backing the resizing die away from the shellholder as it is a sure means of destroying case-to-case uniformity. Better use Redding competition shellholders". In other words, he's referring to partial sizing with a FL sizer, a procedure I (succesfully) apply since decades. Any idea or comment on the validity of this cautioning ?

Posts: 2420 | Location: Belgium | Registered: 25 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Not sure what is behing the author's suggeston to avoid backing off the sizing die and use Redding custom shellholders.

Like you I have been backing off the die for many years. In some cases, as much as .050 to partially size the neck only. Some die manufacturers suggest doing that to avoid over working the brass. Redding shellholders are not that thick to handle a .050 backoff.

With my 22-250, I can tell if I have hit the right die depth as the bolt will give a little extra resistance on closing. Recently have switched to the Redding T-7 turret press to avoid having to reseat the dies each time.

If what you are doing is giving good results, why change a winning formula.
Ron

Posts: 85 | Location: Charleston, WV USA | Registered: 11 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
FlyDevil,
The object behind the Redding Competion Shell Holders is when using them you adjust them by running the ram up to it's highest travel and you screw the sizing down until it touches the shellholder(that's using the regular shellholder for the set-up) and you lock it down. now your sizing die is now set square to the shellholder.