New
Find
Notify
Tools

head space and re-sizing
 Login/Join

<gunboat>
posted
I'm still new to reloading and I have a question about my headspace (on my rifle). I fired off a primed but otherwise empty cartridge and noticed that the primer had moved out of its seat a small amount. Can that amount be a rough measurement of excess headspace?

I'm shooting a rolling block rifle with a rimmed and bottlenecked case. Would the best/easiest way to correct excess headspace be to leave the shoulder forward during re-sizing and only neck re-size? That way I figure I can avoid nearly all case stretching. I would end up controlling headspace off the shoulder even though its a rimmed case.

one of us
posted Hide Post
You may be new to reloading, but you understand the concept of headspace much better than many veterans.

Yes, the backed-out primer fired by itself represents, though not perfectly, the headspace with that particular case.

Yes, it doesn't matter if the case is rimmed, rimless, rebated, or belted, you can still set your dies to headspace on the shoulder of a bottlenecked cartridge. This is ALWAYS better than headspacing on the rim or belt. With a full length die, simply turn the die down in the press progressively and resize to the point that the fired case reenters the chamber with reasonable ease. There you have it -- perfect headspace.

Posts: 13236 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
That always happens on an empty case and that amounts to the exceptable headspace in the caliber......

When setting the shoulder be sure to bump the shoulder enough that feeding is more than easy, if you intend to hunt dangerous game, in fact thats the time to headspace on the belt, feeding is a prime factor under these circumstances and balistic retterick goes out the door....Run every loaded round through the gun before hunting...

------------------
Ray Atkinson

ray@atkinsonhunting.com
atkinsonhunting.com