New
Find
Notify
Tools

School Me On Electronic Scales
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Considering stepping up to an electronic scale after 40 years on a beam-type scale.

What do I need to know?

thanks,

Okie John

"The 30-06 works. Period." --Finn Aagaard

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am not an expert by any means. I had a Dillon for 15 or so years and it died on me. Recently bought a Lyman, believe it was around $60, very reasonable. Its tiny, smaller than a deck of cards.
Both work just fine.
I did notice that on the Lyman, if my I phone is close to the scale, the read out goes bonkers, until I move the phone further away.
There are lots of choices and lots of variance in price, I don't know how to tell which is best bang for the buck.

NRA Patron member

Posts: 2649 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 08 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Having been born into the meat business I'm familiar with scales that operate by finding equilibrium between it item being weighed and the position of a counterweight- but I am wondering what method is used by the electronic scales to determine the weight.

Posts: 1421 | Location: WA St, USA | Registered: 28 August 2016Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Ray B:
Having been born into the meat business I'm familiar with scales that operate by finding equilibrium between it item being weighed and the position of a counterweight- but I am wondering what method is used by the electronic scales to determine the weight.

Electronic scales typically come with a set of check weights, and use protocol is to check the scale prior to actually using it.

Now, to the OP: I had an RCBS electronic and sold it. All it took was the A/C coming on and blowing out the register to cause that machine to lose its mind.

I still use an RCBS 505, and am still managing to build loads that are more accurate than the guy sitting behind the recoil pad (usually me...).