Notify
Tools

Procedures used when working up a new load
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Steve
posted
Folks,

Just wondering what most handloaders do when working up a new load. Got to thinking whether or not I'm following generally accepted procedures. Since I mostly self taught in this area, I sometime question my routine.

So say I just found the newest, slickest, bullet out there for my '06. (I generally start with picking the bullet). I then consult the various tomes of powder manufactures that either talk about that bullet or one vary similar. I then pick two to three of powders that look like they might do the trick. Usually those powders are the ones that tend to fill the case well and are deemed the most accurate by the authors.

I try to use previously fired (from the rifle to be used) brass. So I size (Usually trying not to set the shoulder back), clean the primer pocket (which has been previous uniformed), chamfer and tumble.

I then load three sets of four bullets in each powder (3 for groups, 1 for me to screw up on whilst pulling the trigger [Wink] ). In the '06 I generally start about 1.5 gns. below the max (as long as amount does not leave the case less that 75% full), and work up to the specified max. Other calibers vary on the powder amounts I increment up with.

I tend to use the same primer type in all loads and use a hand priming tool.

When shooting the load I try to let the barrel cool to a similar temperature (measured with a traceable NIST calibrated hand [Smile] ) between shots.

If I find a some what satisfying group, I then go back to the loading bench and vary the seating depth (again in three groups of four) to fine tune, making sure all rounds fit in the magazine and feed. If none of the originals grouped well, then I might try different powders or start over again with a new bullet.

So what is the consensus? Anything I'm doing wrong, missing steps, etc?

I tend not to sort my brass by weight. Should I?