Find
Notify
Tools

reloading safely
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of cummins cowboy
posted
I am new to reloading, and read as much info as i can. I have read a couple reloading manuals and try to sponge up as much info as possible. I want to assemble all of my loads with precision, but most of all i want them to be safe. With a couple stories of blown up guns floating around. I neither wanna get hurt nor blow up a $600 rifle. So my question is what are some tips that will keep me out of trouble. I realize using the wrong powder is prolly the most common mistake and I try as best i can to be careful with the powder for one I don't even bother reloading at all for my pistol.

Posts: 1755 | Location: slc Ut | Registered: 22 December 2002Reply With Quote
<1badassmagnum>
posted
reloading is a very safe hobby,as long as you keep focused on what your doing.go slow and get the process down,double checking visually your powder charge as you place bullet for seating,check your powder throws occaisionally,check col on a regular basis and enjoy.after a few hundred rounds you will most likely feel more confident,and I imagine after shooting some you will want to handload more calibers.its fun and lets you spend more time at the range for less money.it is addicting,just like shooting.

one of us
Picture of R-WEST
posted Hide Post
Concentrate on what you're doing, and minimize distractions. When you're loading is no time to chit-chat with your buddies, watch TV, or ANYTHING that takes your mind off what you're doing. If something just feels or looks weird, go back over it again, and check it out. After a while, you'll get a routine down and the double checks become second nature.

NEVER allow more than one can of powder on the bench at a time. Sounds simple, but that one thing has probably been the cause of more blowups than anything else.

R-WEST

Posts: 1483 | Location: Windber, PA | Registered: 24 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post