Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

NEF 223 Standard Barrel reloading
 Login/Join

posted
Hello everyone. I am new to this forum but not to reloading. However I am new to reloading for a HEF handi-rifle. I have two of them. A 243win with the youth stock, and a 223rem with the wood youth stock. I have free floated the barrels on both from the screw lug forward and accu-glassed the rest. Both have 2.5 pond triggers. Both are disappointingly inaccurate. The 243 will get 1.5" to 2.5" inch groups regardless of what I feed it. Good enough for my son. The 223 on the other hand needs to be a sub MOA rifle. It too is a 2" to 3" rifle. One thing I have noticed with the 223 is the really deep throat. So deep that I can't seat the bullet near the lands. Anyone have any reloading experience with NEF 223 standard barrel rifles. By the way, it has the 1:12 twist.

Thank you!

Posts: 15 | Location: Blue Springs, Mo. | Registered: 05 June 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have an H&R ultra varmint. I load 24.5 grns h322 over a cci small rifle primer in remington brass, col 2.250 it will put 5 shots in the size of a nickle at 100 yards, check out the h&r nef forums on www.graybeardoutdoors.com, you might get some help there.

loud pipes save lives

Posts: 100 | Location: New Enterprise PA | Registered: 09 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Benwillweit has it right - you definitely want to check out the Handi-rifle forum over at Graybeardoutdoors.com - a tremendous amount of info about the Handis there.

Also, I am afraid long throats are very common on almost all Handi chamberings.

Thanks, Dad, for taking me into the Great Outdoors.

Posts: 226 | Location: Western Maryland | Registered: 21 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You should be able to reach the lands if it is a SAAMI chamber.

I can't reach the lands with any bullet any seating in my Bushmaster V-Match barrel with 5.56 nato chamber.