New
Find
Notify
Tools

Chrony questions
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Anybody else notice that their Chrony shows less velocity with identical loads as the sun rises higher?

Today, I started shooting at about 9:30 a.m., and my loads all registered 50-75 fps faster in the morning than they did when the sun was overhead. Sky screens were in place the whole time. It's odd, because I started shooting when the temp was in the 40s, and quit when it was in the 70s, yet, the warmer it got, the more my velocities dropped.

Weird.

Posts: 1443 | Registered: 09 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
No, mine doesn't'.

Posts: 17182 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have owned a Beta Chrony, a ProChrono, an Oehler 35, and CED Millennium II, and a now an Oehler 35P.

I had all kinds of issues with my Chrony not reading properly in varying light conditions. Things like velocities being 75-100 fps off of what they had been during several previous shooting sessions.

The ProChrono worked better than the Chrony. The Millennium II worked well unless the sun was bright and low, shining toward the unit. Both Oehlers were/are nearly flawless. When there is a rare funky reading with the Oehler, it lets you know because of the third skyscreen.

Posts: 3701 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 27 May 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I bought a Chrony when they first discovered that it didn't take several hundred dollars to make a dependable, accurate chrony. I am still using it and I have yet to experience the myriads of problems others have reported.

Aim for the exit hole

Posts: 4348 | Location: middle tenn | Registered: 09 December 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post