New
Find
Notify
Tools

.264 Winchester Magnum Data
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I’m new to this cartridge, and about to reload for it for the first time. I find the data in some manuals and other sources to be either rather slow or severely overstated. Some sources show velocities that I can easily achieve with my 6.5X55 while others show speeds approaching 3600 fps, this data is for 140gr bullets.

I’m trying to find some data that will give me 3100 fps at the muzzle from a 24” barrel. Any helpful suggestions would be appreciated.

Posts: 91 | Location: Portland, OR | Registered: 15 February 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Nice long throat slow powder and 2" of barrel. Wink

Seriously I think you will be hard pressed to get 3100 from a 24" barrel. Best bet is something like RL22 and slower. Some claim great results from retumbo. I have never tried it.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I’m trying to find some data that will give me 3100 fps at the muzzle from a 24” barrel.

3100 f/s automatically limits one to using 129-140 grain bullets in the .264 Win mag. IMHO lighter bullets aren't serious big game bullets, and heavier bullets can't be driven fast enough for the desired trajectory.

With that in mind I'd find a Nosler or Barnes bullet in that weight range, some H4831 or IMR7828, spark it with Federal's 215 and go from there.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm using Nosler and Hornady 139-140gr bullets.

Posts: 91 | Location: Portland, OR | Registered: 15 February 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post