Find
Notify
Tools

404 Jeffery - Headspace issue or not
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of adamhunter
posted
Last week I loaded up 20 rounds for my 404 Jeffery. The load was Hornady 400gr DGX on top of 75 gr of RL-15 using CCI 250 primers. The brass was new BEll brass. The rifle was sighted in using Hornady factory ammo and I loaded these rounds to be about 50 fps under the Hornady claim of 2300 fps. All cases were FL sized before loading and all charges were weighed on my beam scale

At the range 12 of 15 shots fired. I got 3 misfires with light primer indents and and 4 cases that I would say had flat primers. My final shot had a pierced primer so I stopped after that shot. At no time did I experience a sticky bolt or see any signs of pressure other than what I said above about primers.

So, I am thinking that I bumped the shoulder too far back when I FL sized the new brass and should have neck sized only.

I am fairly new to reloading for big bores and rifles in general, most all my experience is with pistol & shotshell

Any feed back is appreciated

Thanks!

Adam

30+ years experience tells me that perfection hit at .264. Others are adequate but anything before or after is wishful thinking.

Posts: 854 | Location: Atlanta, GA | Registered: 20 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Compare your resized cases to your fired cases. Measure them. Can you see the difference? The 404 has a long neck, try neck sizing 1/2 of it. Seat a bullet in the empty, unprimed case and see it it will chamber. Play w/ it and it will give you answers.

Posts: 1135 | Location: corpus, TX | Registered: 02 June 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by aliveincc:
Compare your resized cases to your fired cases. Measure them. Can you see the difference? The 404 has a long neck, try neck sizing 1/2 of it. Seat a bullet in the empty, unprimed case and see it it will chamber. Play w/ it and it will give you answers.