Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How to work up a load
 Login/Join

posted
I have 4 or so different manuals to choose from for load data. However, many times the components used are not the same I have on hand. Are the components interchangeable from one manufacturer to another? Specifically the bullet and primer brand. The powder used would still have to be the manufacturer and powder weight called for. For a fictitious load, if it calls for a 6mm 85gr HPBT by Sierra and a Remington primer could they be substituted for a Hornady 87gr bullet and a Win primer and the powder remains as called for in the manual? If so, would one start @ the lowest load called for and work up? Thanks for any help.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Within reason.
Every reloader swaps components around. And evem if you are following the receipt in the book to the letter, it is still prudent to use some circumspection in determining your starting load as each rifle is different.
I have no experience with the mono metal bullets but when using standard bullets if you wanted to exchange say a 100gr Sierra for a 100gr Hornady, you shouldn't have a problem starting with a load that was 60-75% of max. If If I had it, I would use the book for the bullet I was loading.
I've never seen too much difference in primers although many folks have reported dramatic differences. If it was me, I wouldn't worry too much about it. Just pick a primer and stick with it. If you switch from a standard primer to a magnum primer, it's said that you should back off by a couple or three grains to see how your rifle is going to like it.
All of this assumes you are using a modern bolt action rifle.

Aim for the exit hole

Posts: 4348 | Location: middle tenn | Registered: 09 December 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post