Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

which turret?
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all, noob here. I have figured out that i,ll be loading pistol carts, not ready to dive into progressives. i,ve never loaded in my life. I really thought about singles, but if i end up getting hooked( i mean when i get hooked) i want to be able to push out rounds faster than a single but don't shoot/need the amount that a prog. puts out. Please don't hit me too hard i am new. thanks in advance. ken

one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
ken welcome to the wonderful world of reloading may your experience be a grand one.
Start with a basic reloading set up. single stage is great to learn on. turrents are not that much more complacated just more going on.
get a good manuel and read, study, ask questions and reread untill you understand. no great experiment going on just be cautious and double check every step until your confident thet you know whats happening.
learn to walk before you run..
If at a later time you feel you want a progressive, then get it but you will always find a use for the single stage, it may load some of the most accurate ammo that you use.
Dave

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Hunt-ducks
posted Hide Post
Gun nut

Lets start off with what do you think a turret press does to make it faster?

IMHO there a waste of $$$ big deal you can screw 3-5 dies in it and rotate them do you know how long it takes to screw and unscrew a single die in a single stage press maybe 15 seconds, when ever I reload I start with one operation say sizing I size all the brass I plan to reload if i'm doing pistol I do same then unscrew die and bell case mouth doing all cases then move to next step.

I don't take one case size bell case, take out add powder , seat bullet and crimp to many mistakes can happen and it would drive me crazy rotating the turret head and finding the right die, everything is done in steps.