New
Find
Notify
Tools

Primers- how loose is loose??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been reloading for about 25 years and have seen the term "loose primer pocket" many times, but have never seen a good definition. On some loads over the years I have found that after 4 or 5 loads the primers seat noticably easier, but I can't push them in with my thumb or anything. On the cases that feel the loosest(technical term), after firing I have tried to push the primer out with a Lee trim tool, but have not been able to without using considerable force. Does anyone have a good definition of when a primer pocket is considered too loose? In determining whether a load is too hot, how soon will the pocket get that loose-- in other words, will a hot load cause a pocket to get too loose after the first shot or second, etc...

I realize that a safe max load will eventually cause primer pockets to loosen; what I am looking for is how loose and how soon would a "too hot" load cause primer pocket problems? Thanks, Al.

Posts: 25 | Location: MI USA | Registered: 17 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of POP
posted Hide Post
If I start to feel a lack of resistance when I seat my caps I just mark that case with a permanent marker and toss it after that firing. [Wink]

Posts: 3865 | Location: Cheyenne, WYOMING, USA | Registered: 13 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I prime all of my cases with a hand primer so I can generally feel when they're getting loose. I will typically reload them until they wont hold a primer anymore. The only cases that I ever get loose pockets on are my 338/378 cases, and they'll either hold a primer or they wont.