Notify
Tools

.375 H&H Tips & Tricks?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of rnovi
posted
Hello All,

I'm just getting started on reloading for the .375 H&H and was wondering if there were any specific tips & tricks to the old H&H.

From what I've read, IMR 4350 (and H4350) are "go-to" powders.

For African game, the answer is either an A-Frame or the TSX.

But, what about for American game? Anyone got a general analysis on the common cup & core bullets? Yes, I do intend to shoot cup & core's for practice and for common American game such as deer and hogs.

Any thoughts on the following bullets?

Speer 235?
Speer 270?
Sierra SGK 300?
Hornady oftpoint 300?

Any powders I shouldn't even bother to try?

What about primers? Seems to be all about the Federal 215 Mag Primers? And, is this a case to use mag primers all the time?

Crimp or not to crimp? Or, crimp when available? Std. Roll crimp or taper? Or Lee FCD?

Any tips on the .375 much appreciated!

(PS: I reload for .223, .257, .30-06, .35 Rem, .350 RMag, and a half dozen pistol cartridges. So, the concept of reloading isn't new. I'm just trying to figure out if the H&H has any idiosyncrasies to know about. Thanks!)

Regards,

Robert

H4350! It stays crunchy in milk longer!

Posts: 2319 | Location: Greater Nashville, TN | Registered: 23 June 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
For pigs and deer the 220 Hornady FP, the Speer 235, and the 250 Speer with 60 to 64gr of IMR 3031 works great.

For all round use on everything the 300gr Nosler Partition is hard to beat.

For a 3/4 to 7/8ths power load Federal factory 250 Trophy Bonded Bearclaw is excellent.

For long range on game elk sized and down the Federal 260gr Accubond.

For really BIG stuff the Remington 300gr Swift A Frame, Federal 300gr Trophy Bonded Bearclaw, or the PMC 270gr Barnes X [the blue coated ones] have all shot good for me.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us