THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    need help using Lees 3 die pistol set to roll crimp

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

need help using Lees 3 die pistol set to roll crimp
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hi I am new to reloading and this forum. I finally got all my lee precision equipment a few days ago. Tuesday I will get my powder primers and bullets. I am reloading 357 mag for my Ruger Blackhawk. I wanted to get a feel for every die before I filled a case with powder and got a bullet seated. I have tons of empties so I figured i could waste a few. Anyways i got Lees 3 die carbide pistol set. It has a bullet seater and roll crimper but no factory crimp die. I followed instructions in the Modern reloading book. I deprimed and sized all my cases. I checked case length and none of them needed trimmed. I chamfered the outside just in case. I took about 10 empty 357 cases after the resize and set the flare die to specs. I touched the sheel holder and backed off one turn. I measured all the case mouths on these 10 shells with a dial caliper and they were all the same. I moved my flaring die in 1/4 turn at a time until I got .001 flare on the case mouth for bullet seating. Then I flared the other 9. I then screwed in my bullet seater roll crimp die to specs. I installed a shell and maxed out my ram. Then I screwed the seating die in till it contacted the shell. I lowered my ram and turned the die in an additional 1/2 turn which according to the book, Modern Reloading, would be a light crimp. I found that none of the shells want to crimp because it feels like the flare of the mouth hits the crimp shoulder inside the die. It just feels like it hits a wall. Once in a while if I kept lowering and raising my ram it would "hit" just right and go in for the crimp. But for the most part