New
Find
Notify
Tools

Minimum and Maximum Loads
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to reloading and I could use some help. When I am working up a load for the first time I start at minimum and work my way up till I see pressure signs or I hit Max. I am loading for 300WSM, 7MM-08 30/06 and 7.62X39. The 7.62X39 is were I am getting confused. The difference in load data from one manual to the next is were I need help.
Here is the data for 7.62X39 125gr IMR 4227:
IMR 18.5gr Max
Speer 19.0 Min 21.0 Max
Sierra 19.7 Min 23.0 Max
Why is the Max for IMR less than the Min for the other 2? I know that every rifle is different etc. but, this seems really odd that the powder manufacturer has a Max less than the others Min.

Posts: 1205 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Interesting! I've noted the same thing as you did. The web site for the IMR powder does indeed state not to exceed 18.5 grains.
http://www.imrpowder.com/data/rifle/762x39.php

I'd suggest that you send them an e-mail and ask them that question. I commend you as a new reloader about your researching of more than one manual when developing loads. A good approach for the sake of safety.

Maybe someone who reloads for the 7.62X39 can add some insight into this. If it were me I would start at the minimum 18.5 and work up incrementaly while looking for signs of pressure. It doesn't seem likely that both Speer and Sierra would be wrong.

By the way my Lyman manual doesn't call out a load for 125 grains but does call out a load for 123 grains. For 123 grains bullets it says that the minimum is 20 grains and the max is 22 grains of IMR 4227.

Posts: 257 | Location: Torrance, Ca | Registered: 02 July 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post