New
Find
Notify
Tools

30-06 accuracy issues
 Login/Join

posted
Hi there,
this is my first post, and im brand new to the reloading scene.
Basically I've just started reloading for my 30-06. I've reloaded some nosler 180 grain ballistic tip and some hornady 165g ballistic tip. For both loads I am using ADI powder: ar2206h. It is equivalent to the following:
Hodgdon: H4895
Imr: IMR4895
Accurate Arms: AA2230
Vectan: Tu 3000

So here is my problem...
Using the absolute cheapest factory ammo i can find... federal 180g lead points i shoot a one inch group at 100 yards...
Using my hand load stuff the bullets end up about 6 inches to right and about two inches down at 100 yards! and the group size is awful. about 2 and 1/2 inches.

What i've done...
For both projectiles bullet seating depth has been achieved by putting a projectile into a spent shell so it's quite lose fitting, and loading it into the gun. I then remove the bullet and press the bullet in 1/16 of an inch more. ie I have a 'jump' of about 1/16 of an inch which I've heard is a good starting point.

for the 180g nosler im using exactly 43g of 2206h and for the 165g im using exactly 45g of powder.

Basically i dont know where to start? do i change the amount of powder, is the bullet seating depth wrong, etc etc
Any help is going to be appreciated greatly! Thanks in advance,
Steve

Edit:

*Using federal primers
*Using Remington brass
*Savage stevens rifle
*Adi suggests that my muzzle velocity with the amount of power I'm using will be about 2500fps for the 180 grains
and 2690fps with the 165 grains.
*Bullet run out looks absolutely fine

Posts: 10 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 24 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Welcome, DU. First, you might give us a little more info-rifle, brass, bullets, etc. What do the loading books say your velicity should be?