New
Find
Notify
Tools

Problems with forming 256 Newton brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am pretty new at reloading so i wonder if someone with more experience could maybe pinpoint my problem.I have been forming 256 brass from 270 win brass but i find that i am having problems chambering the loaded ammo in my original Newton rifle. the overall length is within spec,and the unloaded cases will chamber easily.I need some advice I really want to get this wonderfull old rifle shooting.

Posts: 113 | Location: canada | Registered: 21 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Have you tried to make up a dummy round?

Since this is a pretty old rifle I would advise 2 things.

1. Verify it is still wearing the barrel, bore and chamber you are loading for.

2. Make up a dummy round and check chambering.
Seat the bullet deeper until it chambers.
Check that against the specifications. There is a good chance that the specification and your rifle are different.

Posts: 13978 | Location: http://www.tarawaontheweb.org/tarawa2.jpg | Registered: 03 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you for your reply,yes the rifle still has the original barrel and is still a 256 newton.It has been in the family for 82 years! I will try seating the bullets deeper but i dont think thats the problem.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have one and used to form brass from 30-06.

Because when you size, you are essentially turning some "thick" shoulder brass into neck brass I always had to ream the inside of the necks.

Everything is fine while the case is empty, but when you insert a bullet into the case the thicker portion of the neck will not chamber with a bullet in the case.

You may be able to solve the problem with outside neck reaming.

You can also buy 256 Newton brass made by Jamison at Midway. Try buying a box of those if you do not want to inside or outside neck ream/turn, and see if that solves your problem.