New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wilson Case Trimmer - Question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to reloading and just got my case trimmer with zero, nada, zip instructions, kinda tough on us non-engineering type. How does one put pressure on the case mouth? Just by pressing in on the handle while turning? Does the case holder set the length or is set some other way? What is done with the screw in device? Does one have to go thru this entire process with each case? Must take forever? I have emailed Sinclair with these questions but since they are the ones sending zero instructions I thought ya'll would respond with more hands on details.

Posts: 1324 | Registered: 17 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by muygrande:
I am new to reloading and just got my case trimmer with zero, nada, zip instructions, kinda tough on us non-engineering type. How does one put pressure on the case mouth? Just by pressing in on the handle while turning? [QUOTE]

In short the answer is yes, but the pressure you apply shouldn't be excessive. Whenever the trimming operation isn't smooth and easy, you're applying too much pressure to the crank.

quote:
Does the case holder set the length or is set some other way? What is done with the screw in device? Does one have to go thru this entire process with each case? Must take forever? I have emailed Sinclair with these questions but since they are the ones sending zero instructions I thought ya'll would respond with more hands on details.
quote:

The case holder does as it says: it holds cases, but it also centers them negating the need for pilots, so in return one gets a nice square-cut case mouth. The screw device to which you refer DOES set the trim length desired. It needs adjusting only when one switches calibres and case holders, not for each individual case. For example, if you load only 30-06s it will never need readjusting unless compensating for some kind of mechanical wear.