Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Primer Issue
 Login/Join

posted
I was doing some shooting this weekend with my 6mm Rem, loaded with 95g BTs on top of 46g imr4831, R-P brass and Fed GM210 primers. This is the same 95g BT load I have been using for a few years. Brass has been reloaded 2 times and I have not seen any pressure problems with this load.

Second shot of the afternoon I got blasted with gas in face. I have never had this happen to me before with any of my handloads. I ejected the case and looked at the head of the brass. It was all black and appeared to have a pin hole in the primer itself. This hole was not caused by the firing pin. I shot a few more times, packed my stuff and left.

I got home, popped the primer out to look closer, and it had a tiny little hole on the corner of the primer.

Is this a fluke....what caused this?

You can see the hole on the upper edge of the primer, near the wall of primer pocket.

If you look closely you can see the hole in the primer, bottom left side of the primer.

Posts: 9 | Location: TX/WYO/TN | Registered: 23 February 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
It may just be a single bad primer. I have never seen anything like it. There appears to be the beginnings of a hole or dimple in the other side as well.

Larry

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history, when everybody stands around reloading" -- Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 3942 | Location: Kansas USA | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have come across this problem only twice in 50 years, but it does hapen.

Try diffent box of primers and I'll bet the problem goes away.

Remember, forgivness is easier to get than permission.

Posts: 3994 | Location: Hudsonville MI USA | Registered: 08 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post