New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Chronograph Recommendations
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
It is hard to make good decisions on a load work up if the readings are different every time you use the chrony, which is what I had when I used my shooting chrony. I bought an Oehler, and all those problems disappeared. I now get readings that I can count on and don't have to worry if the light conditions are "right". You can buy the Oehler for $225 if you don't want the printer, which I don't. I use a journal and write down each shot I take, along with a header for bullet type, primer, powder and case. I take my loading serious, and discrepancies of up to several hundred fps on my chronograph, are not acceptable. So, if you would like to know about how fast you bullets ae going, within 200 fps,and only IF you get a reading, the shooting chrony will work. If this is not acceptable, the Oehler has never given me an obviously false reading. I have no experience with the other units as I have no experience with them.
One of the reasons I got the Oehler was one day when I was at the range with my F-1 and one of my buddies had a Chrony Gamma master. His read 200 fps more than my unit when they were set up end to end. So which one was right?

Posts: 231 | Location: Abbotsford, Wis. | Registered: 31 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If and when you have to call Oehler, they speak the(English) language and unless you happen to shoot a sky screen they will fix it for FREE, Did, I say FREE, I have used Oehler products for 30+ years and have not had a problem.
Stepchild

Posts: 1326 | Location: glennie, mi. USA | Registered: 14 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post