New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loading the 35 Whelen
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I admit to being a complete novice on doing wildcat loading. But I recently received a .35 Whelen from an elder relative. Made on a FN Mauser action. I don't know who installed the barrel.

Here is my question. I note the 30.06 case is 2.494 and I note the 35 Whelan is supposed to be the same 2.494. How does one keep that dimension when using 30-06 cases to load for 35 Whelen I ask Because doesn't that brass shrink when one stretches it out to make a larger space for the larger bullet?

KJK

Posts: 681 | Location: MN | Registered: 11 December 2020Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of cal30 1906
posted Hide Post
It will probably be slightly shorter after necking it up but the difference will not be detrimental to anything and it will stretch out after a few firings.

If it cant be Grown it has to be Mined! Devoted member of Newmont mining company Underground Mine rescue team. Carlin East,Deep Star ,Leeville,Deep Post ,Chukar and now Exodus Where next? Pete Bajo to train newbies on long hole stoping and proper blasting techniques.
Back to Exodus mine again learning teaching and operating autonomous loaders in the underground. Bringing everyday life to most individuals 8' at a time!

Posts: 3070 | Location: Northern Nevada & Northern Idaho | Registered: 09 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You probably aren't gonna crimp anyway, so case length isn't critical. I recommend Alliant PP 2000-MR for bullets over 225 grains, and Varget for the lighter bullets. It's a great cartridge, you'll have fun!

One of Us
Picture of BaxterB
posted Hide Post
Would love to see loads that easily get a 225 TSX to 2650 at standard COAL>

And I believe Powder Valley had 35 W brass from Norma on sale recently.

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post