New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gotta Love Them Fliers
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been trying to work up loads for my recently bedded CZ Model 3 300WSM. Before bedding it was shooting OK, about 1 1/4 plus at 100 yards with several loads. I figured a good bedding job and free floating the barrel would help tighten things up.

My last two sessions at the range have me more frustrated then ever. This is a typical 4 shot group at 100 yards. Notice shot #2 way left. I would get fliers like this in just about every group. The flier would come at random. Sometimes it would be #1, #2 or #3, but never #4.

The rifle is a CZ Model 3 in 300WSM with Leupold DD bases and rings, Nikon 4.5-14x40 Buskmaster with side focus. The trigger has been worked to a smooth, crisp 3lbs.

What do you think? Bad bedding job, scope issues, bad shooter or POS rifle?

Posts: 1205 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert and I probably don't understand well, but are the fliers ALWAYS on the left and slightly lower than the main group?

Posts: 1459 | Location: north-west Italy | Registered: 16 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by wildboar:
are the fliers ALWAYS on the left and slightly lower than the main group?

No, they are pretty much all over the map.

Posts: 1205 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It could be posible that your rifle doesn't like that powder/bullet combination. I have a rifle that groups like that when it doesn't like a powder. It can group under an inch when it likes a load, but it will touch two holes and put one anywhere else it likes within about 2 inches. I am no expert, but if you handload, that may be something to consider.
Hope that helps,
Graham

Posts: 264 | Location: Northern BC, Canada | Registered: 28 November 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post