New
Find
Notify
Tools

I need help
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I've been handloading amunition for 53 years now. Today, I ran into something I have never seen before. The cartridge is the .300 WSM. The brass has been loaded and shot twice doing load work up. yesterday I did a full length resize and ran them through the tumbler like I always do. Primer pockets were cleaned as usual. Then it was primer seating time. Pockets were still reasonably snug, but the primers would not go all the way in. I removed the offending primers and checked the depth of the primer pocket with my dial caliper. I then checked the depth one some once fired factory cases and with some new brass that was intended for the final handloads. Both were much deeper by almost .002".
During the firing of the test loads, there were no apparent signs of pressure, even at the manual's stated max load. velocity was good with a rather small ES, case head expansion was no different that factory and primers were nice and round with no sign of flattening. Yet, I believe they should have been extremely flat if it was excess pressure that pushed the floor of the primer pockets out by that amount. Even if it was defective brass that was too soft in the head, there should have been very flat primers.
FWIW, this occurred with every load from the starting load of 65.0 gr. of IMR-4831 to the max load of 69.0 gr. of IMR-4831 with the 150 gr. Nosler ballistic Tip. Load data is from the Nosler Manual.
I strongly suspect it may be high pressure but the lack of signs is puzzling.
Paul B.

Posts: 2814 | Location: Tucson AZ USA | Registered: 11 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
Did you switch primers? Some are slightly diff. diameters. If you are running too hot, the pockets should be enlarging not getting smaller. The only other thing to check would be a burr inside the pocket.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!