New
Find
Notify
Tools

9mm reloads
 Login/Join

<reverenddan>
posted
I have been casting and sizing my 9mm bullets to .356 simply because this is conventional wisdom. However my RCBS molds seem to cast a bullet larger in diamater than my Lyman molds using the same alloy and "all things being equal."

In my sizing of the 9mm 124 grain TC bullets I have found that sizing them to .356 really swages the sides. I know from experience that my little Lyman 45 caliber 255 swc bullets barely get touched by my .452 sizing die and as a result (in my opinion) they are tremendously accurate.

I think my 9mm bullets are getting excessivly worked over so I switched to a .357 die and viola! They are just trued up and look very nice and are easier to lube.

So here is my question; Who has experience with .357 bullets in the 9mm? How do they work?

I have slugged the barrel on my S&W 439 and it is the true .355 so I am only .002 over which seems acceptable in revolvers but I have no experience with semi-autos so I am looking for advice and opinions. [Confused]

one of us
posted Hide Post
As long as the loaded rounds are an easy fit in the chamber, you're good to go.

I use cast bullets sized .358 in 9mms and have for years. Only stuff I size to .356 is for a little .380 with a tight chamber.

Posts: 1570 | Location: Base of the Blue Ridge | Registered: 04 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I shoot .358" 158 gr LSWC cast bullets in a 9mm barrel for a Tokarev pistol. The magazine is long, so I have re chambered for 9x23mm. As the man above says, it all works fine if the chamber fits. I have made an extra large diameter and length free bore to accomodate the big bullets.

Posts: 2249 | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have used them big in a 9mm with no problem. I read somewhere that the proper size for a revolver is to fit the cylinder not the bbl, which is fairly big!

one of us
posted Hide Post