New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading room setup ?'s
 Login/Join

<OSK>
posted
I have been reloading for a few years now, and I am just now getting my own room setup. Question is, my bench is going into the garage, and I wanted to know if I needed to store my powder indoors because of the heat?? (Here in Texas, it can get pretty hot in a garage! 110*F+). I didn't know if the incresed temps would have any effect on the powders?

Also, I picked up a case tumbler...and was wondering which media would be best for cleaning??? Thanks in advance!

Chris

<Odessa>
posted
I'm in eastern NC and we have similar temps to yours in JUL/AUG/SEP coupled with high humidity. I also have my reloading room in my garage and store my powder and primers there. I have been using an old "Omaha Steaks" shipping container for several years to keep the powder and primers in. It is styrofoam and about 3-4 inches thick, I put my tumbler on top of it to keep the lid sealed tight. It holds about 10 1lb. cans of powder and several packs of primers and seems to do a fine job; never had any signs of deterioration or any misfires, low velocities, etc. Odessa

<P H Barker>
posted
OSK,
I started loading in 1977, in Houston. Then moved down to the beach. Now live near Beaumont. I still have some of the original powders and primers from the late 1970s. They have been stored in all matter of places throughout moves and periods of reloading inactivity. I keep the powder in one of those big rubbermaid storage things - kind of like a footlocker. Keep the primers in a tupperware thing. None of this has been in an airconditioned area since leaving Houston in 1989. Have had no problems, everything still goes pop.