THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Can Someone Please Help For Loads For A 308 AR?
 Login/Join

Administrator
posted
Gentlemen,

I have received the following request, and I have no experience with this rifle.

Anyone has any suggestions?

"I have a 308 AR rifle with a 20 inch. I would like to get about 2700 to 2900 fps out of the rifle. The bullet would be no bigger than 180 grains. I would like load data for bullets between 150 to 180 grains, and that includes match bullets too"

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68690 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The AR platform does not have the options a bolt gun can provide to achieve velocity goals. The main reason for this is you cannot use "slow powders". You have to use medium burn rate powders to avoid high gas port pressure.

In a 20" barrel AR10, you can achieve 2700-2725 fps with a 150 grain bullet and not exceed rated pressures. Any larger bullet will reduce MV.

Both the 168 and 175 HPBT bullets shoot very well out of my 20", 10 twist AR. Velocity will be in the range of 2500-2650 FPS at rated pressures.

I have had great results with Alliant's ARCOMP powder(consistent 0.5 MOA), and RL15. Hodgdon VARGET is good but does not provide quite the velocity or accuracy. IMR 4064 performs about the same as VARGET.

In my rifles, the Nosler 168 custom competition bullet at 2635 fps MV is amazingly accurate. Indeed, it seems more accurate than the bullet it emulates, the 168 Sierra MK. For hunting, you can switch to a 165 Sierra HP Game King and use about the same charge weights developed for the 168 HPBT. That bullet is the "Hammer of Thor" for White Tail deer.

Always, always full length resize the brass. I do not bother with a crimp as most dies provide ample neck tension for the .308 bullet. Military weight brass lasts much longer in these rifles than commercial weight brass.