New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet weight Tollerances on 5.56 Match Ammo
 Login/Join

<El Viejo>
posted
I just started loading some match ammo for my 5.56mm. I am new to this caliber and looking for some pointers.
I weighed all my cases to plus or minus 5 grains

I weighed all my tips to plus or minus 2 grains.

Is this too tight or not tight enough?
txs

------------------
Never teach a pig to sing.
It wastes your time and annoys the pig

<10point>
posted
EL exactly what bullet are you matching to what rifle/barrel/barrel twist ?

Thats a much more important 1st question then what you are asking, especially in 5.56mm. Fill us in on your rig first ?..........good shooting....10

<El Viejo>
posted
I am shooting a Rock River A2 with a 16"bbl and a 1 in 9 twist. This is one of the Mil Spec versions, not their match version.

I ordered a bunch of IMI 55gr fmjbt from Widners. I recognize that this is not match grade, so I have been weighing each tip, accepting 55gr plus or minus .1grain (54.9-55.1) I have found that only about 15% of the tips pass this spec.

I am going to load 24.1gr of WC844 which worked out to be the best accuracy round for my rifle.

The match I am loading for is a different one than I have ever shot. Range: 100yds, 10 shots in 70 seconds including one mag change.

If you could suggest a better tip, I would appreciate it.
Thank you for your reply.
EV

<TomJ>
posted
E.V.
Just about any bullet will shoot better than those FMJs. But, how much are you willing to spend? You should be able to pick up something like Hornady SX or Sierra Blitz for under $10/100 or even better, Sierra BlitzKings, Nosler Ballistic Tips or Hornady or Sierra Match bullets for under $14/100. The match bullets should shoot the best.
I think with some good bullets and the powder you are using, you should be able to get groups half the size you are getting with the FMJs. FMJs are great because they are cheap, thats all.

<El Viejo>
posted