THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Loading 38 Special or 357 for rifles rather than pistols

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loading 38 Special or 357 for rifles rather than pistols
 Login/Join

posted
I have a Winchester 94 357 Legacy with a 24" barrel and was thinking about reloading. I have done some reading but the only mention I can find of 38Sp or 357 is in Pistol calibres and the load information seems to be aimed at pistols. Any idea where I can find loading information for theses calibres used in rifles. Logic suggests the loads should be higher (as they have to travel further before reaching the open air) but I don't know. As you might guess, I am a real novice in this. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Posts: 2 | Location: UK | Registered: 16 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
in general you can load up your 38/357 a bit hotter in a rifle than in a handgun. Most of the newer manuals will have a listing showing some of the pistol calibers in rifles. The other thing is that you can use contender as a __GUIDE__ STARTING BELOW WHAT IS CALLED FOR IN THE T/C

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Load pistol loads only. It is only a 357. If you want a powerfull rifle get one in the first place. Problem will be when you drop one of the super loads in a revolver and damage the gun. I have done exactly that. Super hot 44-40 loads found there way into a revolver. Load to standard pressures for whatever cartridge you are working with. Then you can never have a mix up. If you want more power get a more powerfull gun.

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote: