Find
Notify
Tools

Chrony Problems
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted
I have a little red "Chrony" chronograph that I used when I had an archery shop a few years ago. I'm new to reloading so I thought I'd use it (rated up to 4500 fps) in place of buying a more expensive one.

I've shot two rifles across it. I get velocity spreads up to 200 fps per load. Is my loading that bad or my chrony is a liar? The conditions were good with no errors reported. However, I measure each charge...just don't think it is me. Anyone have similar experiences with cheaper chronies?

Reloaders Haul Brass!

Posts: 336 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 03 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
actually it is not unusual to find loads 200 and more apart. Shoot a few more and take an average. many moons ago a couple of us decided to see what kind of differences there were between ball and stick powder and between weighing and measuring them. what we found out was that measure ball gave the most consistent readings, followed by measured stick then weighed ball and then weighed stick. the weighed stick frequently gave 2-300 FPS differences.

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted Hide Post
Hmm...didn't know that. How in the heck can rounds with that much variance have even close to the same impact? Looks like that would spread them all over the place...

Reloaders Haul Brass!

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Are the screens for archery which measure velocities near the 300 fps the same screens for high velocity centerfire? Your chrony is rated for the high stuff but is are your screens?

Posts: 251 | Location: TX | Registered: 28 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
A simple way to check a chrono's reliabilty and/or consistancy is to fire some 22 match grade ammo across it. High grade 22 match ammo doesn't vary much in velocity from round to round.