Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

30-06 Varmit Load, where to start?
 Login/Join

posted
I have a Remington 7600 (pump action) 30-06 and would like to try to work up a good load for varmits; ground hogs and coyotes. I'd like a lightweight flat shooting bullet and am unsure of what powder to use, can you all get me started in the right direction? Recommend a bullet and a powder charge. Thanks.

Posts: 8 | Location: Ohio, USA | Registered: 31 December 2002Reply With Quote
<green 788>
posted
Use the 125 Nosler BT's or Speer's 125 TNT's...

If you can find Ramshot's "Big Game" powder, you will find the recommended 62 grain charge very accurate.

Otherwise, you might try Nosler's recommended load of 52 grains of RL15... I have no personal experience with this load, but it is their starting load, and considered the most accurate.

Let us know what you decide...

Dan

one of us
posted Hide Post
Speer's 130 grain hollowpoint works real well and is usually accurate. SPLAT!

Posts: 327 | Location: Washington State, USA | Registered: 18 July 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Before I widened out into real varmint calibers, I had local Columbian Ground Squirrels in terror with my M700 Remington 30-06 using the 130 Speer HP chased by 54 grains of H4895. Turned them into pink mist quite nicely. Very accurate in my rifle and a M670 Winchester of my buddy's. Regards Eagleye. [Big Grin]

[ 01-07-2003, 11:01: Message edited by: Eagleye ]

Posts: 113 | Location: B.C., Canada | Registered: 18 August 2002Reply With Quote
<1_pointer>
posted
I get just under an inch for three with the 125gr Sierra's and 54.5gr IMR 4064. It's a fun load to shoot for cheap practice. I haven't shot anything with it yet though, but would think there'd be any problems.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I've had good luck with 125 grain Ballistic Tips and H335. I don't remember the charge but it was listed in "Metallic Cartridge Reloading" by M.L. McPhereson. Very accurate load and ran out at around 3200fps.