New
Find
Notify
Tools

Over-pressure indications
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
As I am relatively new to reloading and thankfully have not made a mistake yet. I would like to know what are all the possible signs of overpressure. This way I can be better informed when I look at my fired cases.

Hoping for lots of input

Bud

Posts: 61 | Location: Stockholm, N.J., USA | Registered: 10 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Replies shouldn't be to many as there are few signs.

First, if you load more grains than a reputable loading manual recommends as a maximum charge, you are in dangerous territory.

Watch for a bolt that's hard to lift.

Watch for a case that extracts hard.

Examine the primer:

Look for a powder burn around the seam that indicates a gas leak.

A flat primer is a good sign of too much pressure.

Load a light load, a load that you know is safe. Fire it. Keep that fired case at hand when you shoot your hand loads. Compare the safe case to your fired cases.

Use a chronograph. Chronograph your start loads and all loads above that. If the chorny shows velocity much higher than a reputable manual, beware. Velocity comes from pressure and too much velocity comes from too much pressure.

Finally, if you can get your hands on and older Speer manuel, there is an excellent article on loading and pressue aby Jack O'Connor that manuel. It's old, but with plenty of good advice on loading your own.

If all fails, check your shorts. What happens back there is a good indication of excess pressure.

Never load when you are tired, distracted or ticked off at the old lady.

Safety first, second and always.

Posts: 631 | Location: North Dakota | Registered: 14 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If you have a chrony, it will give you good service with regards to a "operating maximum".