New
Find
Notify
Tools

7mm-08????
 Login/Join

<2/J>
posted
Last year I picked up a winchester Model 70 featherweight in 7mm-08 for my girl friend. She ended up shooting a .243 this fall which had a shorter stock for her. (We have now
got a shorter stock coming for her.)I took it out before the season to see how my loads were
doing as she was going to let me hunt with it. Now, I have been reloading for over 20 years
and in that time have never had a problem getting a rifle to shoot an inch or better at 100yds.
Until now. I have used 10 different bullets, over 3 different powders and still do not have a
group that I feel this rifle should be capeable of that is useable on Elk. Every time I shoot a poor
group I take out some 115 speer HP's and they go in to as little as .277" for 3 shots @
100. Any bullet I feel is suitable for Elk shoots, at best into about 1 3/8" and have had some
go as large as 5". I have bedded the recoil lug, floated the barrel, replaced the scope, took the
trigger down to 3 1/2 pounds scrubbed it's bore till I'm blue in the face, seated the bullets
in/out. Of the 10 bullet I have used only 2 have shot under an inch, the 115 Speer HP and
the 130 Speer Sp. neither will I use for Elk. The best I have at this time is 154 Hornadys with
50.5 gr. RL-19, Fed. 210 and Win. brass. I scratch my head and wonder "Is it the crown?"
but if it were then why will the 115 speers shoot so well? Then I wonder "Is it the twist?"
Winchester shows that they use a 1 in 10" twist, but surelythey ment for a featherweight
to shoot big game. I have not tried other brass or primers but probably will after my Elk hunt
this month.

Does anyone here have any thing to add? something I have overlooked? It just about
has me beat. Every big game rifle I have ever loaded for will shoot well with midweight to heavy
bullets and Hodgdon/IMR 4350 or Hodgdon/IMR 4831. I have never really had to look
much further. Anything you can add would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, John.