New
Find
Notify
Tools

Powder selection for 25-06/115-120 gr.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've been loading for a friend's M77 25-06 for 25 years. The first load I settled on was A3100 and 100 gr. Nosler Ballistic tips. It's taken an embarrassing number of deer, virtually all with pass-through shots. My friend is very patient, nearly always waits for a broadside.

Now we need a multi-purpose round, one that will have a decent chance on elk. I posted recently about bullet selection and received several helpful comments. I'm going to try the Barnes TSX, at least a little. Barnes warns that these need a 9 twist, and Ruger says the M77 is 10. I haven't measured it.

As to powder, I've perused 8 manuals. IMR is the fastest listed, VV N170 the slowest. I'm inclined to start with IMR4831 because it is right in the middle of the burn rate chart for the preferred powders. Plus, I've got a lot of it. Any comments.

Note: One manual reports that A3100 gives pressures at 60,000 and above, while all of the other powders give about 50,000. I was getting 3430 fps with A3100 and 100 grain bullets, and that was with less than a max load. At max, the primers were falling out. Actually only one fell out and I backed off immediately. (Lest you think me an idiot.)

Comments appreciated.
Brice

PS. I've been handloading since 1959. My first equipment was a Pak-Tool, manufactured and sold by Bill English, a fine Seattle gunsmith who had a shop in the Frederick and Nelson (Marshall Fields) department store. It was appropriately located behind the toy section on the sixth floor. Macy's now occupies the building. No, they don't have a gun shop.

I used to drop in at the Eddie Bauer store in Seattle on Saturdays. In those days they outfitted Everest expeditions and had fine English doubles on the shelves. That company went toilettesville, too.

Posts: 2827 | Location: Seattle, in the other Washington | Registered: 26 April 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post