New
Find
Notify
Tools

.223 remmington load????
 Login/Join

<redheron>
posted
Im just getting into reloading. I would like any help on a load for a .223 rem.
I have a remmington 700 BDL, I have tried 26.5 graind of bc-l2 with a 55 grian balistic tip. What case lenght should I trim to? I have read 1.750??? What about the b-tips, ive heard good and bad. maybe a 50 grain ball would fly better. Best I can do with these b-tips is .915 groups. How do v-max ball do? Also should bullet be seated into rifeling or just behind it. Thanks for any help for the beginner :-)

<.>
posted
Been here, done that . . .

Remington 700's have long throats. I found in my 700 PSS that the only bullet that would come close to the rifling was the Sierra 69 gr. MatchKing. And then, the OAL was so long that the load wouldn't fit in the magazine. Wouldn't fit in most ammo cases either.

Two hot powders for .223 Rem. are BL-C2 and H-335. Both are very popular.

The "solution" I found for not being able to seat to the lands in my 700 was to have the barrel set-back and rechambered to .223 Ackley Improved. I should be getting this job back from the shop end of this week.

Set-back is standard procedure for boring to Ackley Imp. Still, you need to be clear to the smith that you want to set back sufficient to eliminate "free bore."

Trim length is specified at 1.750 with std. case length being 1.760. I trim to 1.760 because the more neck you have holding the bullet, the better release you get.

Varmint Al talks about trim, case length and setting the bullet against the lands:

http://www.cctrap.com/~varmint/arelo.htm

The Rem. 700 is a very accurate rifle. I don't know why Rem. insists on chambering with a long free-bore (It's a safety/liability thing).

.223 Rem. is very accurate, a favorite caliber in 600 yd. matches. The Rem. 700 is an excellent gun. Rechamber and new Holland barrel/recoil lug ran me $130. I invested in a Sinlcair neck turning tool.