Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Presure signs question
 Login/Join

posted
I need some help understanding signs of getting to much presure. I'm new to reloading and have read that flatening primers is a sign of high presure, how much flattening is exceptable if any because all of my primers seem to flaten to some extent?(even factory loads)
I am reloading for my 7mm08 using winchester brass, imr4064, sierra 120gr. prohunter and fed210m primers.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Primers are not a sure bet when it comes to reading pressures.Check the bolt lift with a factory load and reloads.
And work up to the max loads in any book.
Safe Shooting

Posts: 1371 | Location: Plains,TEXAS | Registered: 14 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Too often pressure signs singularly don't denote excess pressure. A flattened primer may be caused by a slight head space problem; a cratered firing pin strike can be a large pin hole in the face of the bolt; a heavy bolt lift can be a dirty chamber; etc.
It's when you have several of these come together that you should have a concern. Not to say that individual occurrences shouldn't be investigated.
Load books and a chrony and a awareness of the pressure signs should keep you on safe ground.

Aim for the exit hole

Posts: 4348 | Location: middle tenn | Registered: 09 December 2009Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
The bolt isn't hard to open after firing, it seems to open like it always has. The primers aren't completely flatened out to the point of filling the primer pocket or anything, they still have a slight rounded edge and no cratering around where the firing pin strikes the primer. just wanted to get some opinions from some of you guys who have been reloading more than i have.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm pretty much a novice at this myself rancher81 so most of what I'm going to say here was learned from this forum, and on a UK based forum as well.