Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

30-06 Springfield Reloading
 Login/Join

posted
I've been reloading 30-06 Springfield for several years, but I occasionally encounter some difficulty with the sizing process. I typically trim my cases to 2.470" OAL and I've set my resize die to push the shoulder back to fit my chamber properly. What I run into from time to time is that I'll have a case that fits very tight into my rifle... so much so that it is very difficult to unlock my bolt. After inspecting the cases that seem to get stuck, I've found evidence of scuffing near the base of the case. When I look at other cases (such as my 308Win cases) I see the same thing, so I'm thinking this is normal due to the chambering process, and I'm not convinced that this is my problem, but I'm not sure.

In the photo below you can see five cases. All have been trimmed and resized, along with ~100 others. Of the entire batch, the bottom 4 in the photo caused my bolt to lock up, the top one (along with the remainder of the batch) did not - note the lack of scuff marks on the top case. Can anyone tell from looking at this photo what type of problem I may be having? I wonder if I'm not running the cases into the die far enough? If I run them in farther, then I think I'll be pushing the shoulder back more that I want to, but I suppose this may be necessary in order to produce a more consistent fit.

Recommendations?

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
K5yac,

I have a couple of questions here, first is if all these cases are from the same batch or have some cases possibly been fired either more times or with hotter loads than other ones? Have you possibly changed shellholders at some point?

Also, do you have a micrometer? Not a caliper but a 1" mic? If you do you can try measuring the shiny band and then the same area on other cases that do not stick?