New
Find
Notify
Tools

I Made A Surprising Discover Today!!
 Login/Join

Administrator
posted
We have been shooting factory rifles in small calibers lately.

Mostly 223s and small 6mms.

This morning I thought I will process my empties of our 375/404 hunting rifles, getting them ready for our safari in September.

I have been using Norma 404 brass since 2003. I prepared 150 cases then.

Sometimes we loose a case or two while hunting, but most of those cases are still being used today.

That means most have been reloaded at least 15 times.

Our chambering reamer was cut to our specs.
The dies were made to our specs.

What I noticed today was the ease of sizing these case.

They feel much easier to size than sizing 223s shot in factory rifles, and sized in factory standard dies??

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68628 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Aloha Saeed,
As I recall, you originally purchased a case of 404 brass as many of us do for our favorite rifles. However, using only 150 cases and reloading up to 15 times only reinforces my belief that "We reloading gun nuts truly believe that we will live forever."

Geoff

Shooter

Posts: 622 | Location: Mossyrock, WA | Registered: 25 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Saeed, do you anneal those cases?

Who cut your custom dies?

Cheers, Chris

DRSS

Posts: 1970 | Location: Australia | Registered: 25 December 2006Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
No, I don't anneal any of my brass.

The reamer was made by Dan Green.

The dies were made by Redding according to our drawings.

I think what is helping preserve those cases is how close the chamber and the resizing die are.

Very little movement of the brass.

Posts: 68628 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post