New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Brass...FLR first?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Most of you know I'm a newbie hunter and reloader...

My son and I are going on a hunt of a lifetime...Namibia PG in MAY...

I'm ordering 300ea. 30-06 WW brass from MIDWAY USA today...

Should I FLR my brass first or it doesn't matter?

I was of the opinion that I should to maintain uniformity of my ammo, i.e., FLR, trim, chamfer/deburr, etc.

What do you guys recommend?

Thanks a bunch as usual for your guidance and input!!!

Posts: 3430 | Registered: 24 February 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I would normally say no. But if you are going to use this virgin brass on a hunt like that I would say yes.
But, if it were me I'd actually practice with the new brass....reload it with my favorite loads.....test a small sample of the new reloads.....take the rest hunting.

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted Hide Post
Definately run it in to get the necks squared. You dont want to try to push a bullet into a dented neck. Usually 2-6 pieces out of a 50pc bag will have the neck dinged

"Let me start off with two words: Made in America"

Posts: 3326 | Location: Permian Basin | Registered: 16 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Buglemintoday:
Definately run it in to get the necks squared. You dont want to try to push a bullet into a dented neck. Usually 2-6 pieces out of a 50pc bag will have the neck dinged

My thoughts exactly. I always flr new brass. The good part is, you usually never need to lubricate them first since they are not blown out to chamber size anyway. Most of the time it's just the neck getting uniformed anyway.

Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my guns

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Late-Bloomer:
My son and I are going on a hunt of a lifetime...Namibia PG in MAY...